FireFox and multi tabs

Everything about computers and what makes them tick. Get help with yours here.
Post Reply
User avatar
widgetwilk
Posts: 816
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:29 am
Location: Norfolk
Contact:

FireFox and multi tabs

Post by widgetwilk »

I have 5/6 sites in my toolbar, think you would call then multi tabs, until recently when I open the browser they all open in the same order and all logged in. Just lately every time I open browser I have to log into every site,
I think I have ticked and unticked so many box's in the Tool/Opinion menu, that I am totally confused,
think this might have started when I went to Win10, but can't see that as a reason.
Just wondered if anyone else does what I do with a multi tabs tool bar.

User avatar
kasapres
Site Admin
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

Re: FireFox and multi tabs

Post by kasapres »

If you are talking about webpage tabs---as in, Firefox browser tabs---- it has little or nothing to do with your operating system.

If you recently applied the update to V74.0, there's a chance some of your settings have been changed. If you haven't updated, I recommend you do so ASAP. https://www.ghacks.net/2020/03/10/here- ... -0-stable/

As to the settings issue(s):
1. For the previous FF session to reload (as in, to have the same tabs that were open when you shutdown FF open again automatically), go to Tools> Options> General tab> Startup> tick the box beside Restore previous session.
2. Unless you have an extension that does it for you, FF will not automatically log you in to any site(s).
3. That said, the site itself might have a 'Remember me...' feature. (IDF, for example). However, to have it log you in automatically it relies on you NOT clearing your cookies between sessions.
--To adjust those FF settings, Tools> Options> Privacy and security> Cookies and site data> UNtick 'Delete cookies and site data when FF is closed'.
--You will also need to tick the top two boxes under Logins and passwords. (The rest of the boxes are up to you). This will automatically fill in the login information when you try to access a webpage, but you will still have to hit the Enter key (or equivalent) for the login to happen.

Now---with all that said, here's some interesting reading re: Windows 10 and shortcuts/tabs:
https://www.howtogeek.com/661249/how-to ... indows-10/

User avatar
widgetwilk
Posts: 816
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:29 am
Location: Norfolk
Contact:

Re: FireFox and multi tabs

Post by widgetwilk »

Thanks just about to eat, will sort out what you say after, yes I have V74.0
thank you XX

User avatar
widgetwilk
Posts: 816
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:29 am
Location: Norfolk
Contact:

Re: FireFox and multi tabs

Post by widgetwilk »

Done it all,
Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg (19.09 KiB) Viewed 70 times
Clipboard02.jpg
Clipboard03.jpg
Adding attachments is different now, help, hope this is right
Attachments
Clipboard03.jpg
Clipboard03.jpg (25.64 KiB) Viewed 70 times
Clipboard02.jpg
Clipboard02.jpg (14.94 KiB) Viewed 70 times

User avatar
kasapres
Site Admin
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

Re: FireFox and multi tabs

Post by kasapres »

One more setting to check:
Tools> Options> Privacy and security> History
UNtick all boxes then click on and check under Clear history and Settings

User avatar
widgetwilk
Posts: 816
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 9:29 am
Location: Norfolk
Contact:

Re: FireFox and multi tabs

Post by widgetwilk »

Where would I be without you :blowkiss: :blowkiss:
did all you said, tried it twice, and it is back were it was, thank you thank you.
Apart from having to stay indoors, and not being able to go out eating, drinking and dancing I am now very very happy.

Hope you manager alright where you live, keep safe and keep well.

User avatar
kasapres
Site Admin
Posts: 2199
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

Re: FireFox and multi tabs

Post by kasapres »

Happy to help.

Stay safe----and healthy.

Post Reply