my scrambled key board

Everything about computers and what makes them tick. Get help with yours here.
Post Reply
User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

awaiting answer to my last subject on keyboard

in this image that cant be the right date can it?
Attachments
key board drive dated.jpg
key board drive dated.jpg (55.22 KiB) Viewed 945 times
Bob.

(bob12a)

gazman
Site Admin
Posts: 2465
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by gazman »

There have been no updates of the driver for the PS/2 keyboard since 2006 on my computer.
It doesn't surprise me.
Nothing has changed in its design or use and the keyboard is a very basic tool.
All the odd and fancy keys found on some keyboards were thought of and incorporated into the driver by the end of the era of windows 2000 and millennium versions of Windows.
"Europeanism is nothing but imperialism with an inferiority complex." Denis Healey

User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

THanks for that Gaz and the explanation so I am down to buying a new key board it was what I was going to do any way I just enjoyed carefully fiddling around on my computer keeps me occupied
Bob
Bob.

(bob12a)

User avatar
grumps
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:28 pm
Location: Hoddesdon Hertfordshire

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by grumps »

You can often pick one up cheap from a charity shop just to try out or what about Freecycle?
Grumps

User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

THanks grumps for thought
Bob.

(bob12a)

User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

I bought a new keyboard earlier to day no problem getting it to work
when i tried a new installation of FF ver 69 I get the same errors that I had on old keyboard
these errors do not appear if I use google chrome or edge
looks like I will have to stick with leaving FF ver 69 alone.
Bob
Bob.

(bob12a)

User avatar
kasapres
Site Admin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by kasapres »

As mentioned, your problem with Firefox has nothing to do with anything other than the current PROFILE associated with Firefox.
Your profile (which does NOT delete when you uninstall Firefox unless you purposely do so) is in conflict with FF version 69 (or newer).
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/pr ... -user-data

Before doing anything else, try 'Refreshing' Firefox....which may very well remove the conflicting items while maintaining your personal stuff.
Have a good read through this go back and then follow the steps outlined.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/re ... d-settings

If that doesn't work, we'll get on with removing and replacing the current profile.

User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

thanks kas
I have tried all that several times the results no different
as you suggest getting on with removing and replacing the current profile.
Please
Bob
Bob.

(bob12a)

User avatar
kasapres
Site Admin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by kasapres »

OK then. Here we go with the removal.

Firstly make sure Firefox is CLOSED.
If necessary, open Task Manager via Ctrl+Alt+Del then right-click> End Process anything related to Firefox and/or Mozilla.

Now, click the Windows Start button (the globe lower left) or click on the Windows button on your keyboard.
In the Search panel that comes up, type firefox.exe -P (note: include the space between .exe and -P)
Then press Enter

A Firefox - Choose user profile box should pop up.
Click on your profile--likely 'Default'---listed in the white panel to highlight it.
Click Delete Profile.
Click Exit

Hopefully, you only have one FF profile.
If you have multiple profiles, you'll need to follow the above steps for each of them--identifying and deleting them as you go.


To ensure all traces are gone you might want to navigate to:
C:\Users\(your username)\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles

Open the Profiles folder and delete all of the contents (likely three or more separate folders with alpha-numeric names).
Note: DO NOT DELETE THE PROFILES FOLDER---just the contents thereof.
Now empty your Recycle bin.
Et voila!!


And----yer done.

Now download and install a new, fresh version of Firefox.
Next time you open Firefox, a new profile will be created and version 69 (or newer) should have NO conflicts.

User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

firefox profile for kas 02.jpg
firefox profile for kas 02.jpg (164.72 KiB) Viewed 777 times
firefox profile.jpg
firefox profile.jpg (51.15 KiB) Viewed 777 times
getting there Kas
Thanks

some screen shots
Attachments
firefox profile for kas 02.jpg
firefox profile for kas 02.jpg (164.72 KiB) Viewed 777 times
Bob.

(bob12a)

User avatar
kasapres
Site Admin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by kasapres »

If that black page is the list of the existing Firefox profile folders----gee, y'think we might have uncovered the conflict??

I would suggest, whilst following my earlier instructions, you remove BOTH the 'Default - Release' and the 'Default' profiles and clear out every one of the profile folders listed.
Basically, empty the 'Profiles' folder completely.

Better to purge and start again than have to trip over old 'mistakes' and piecemeal a 'new' version then just hope for the best.

User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

Hi Kas
Followed your instructions very closely today
Paying particular attention to below instructions


To ensure all traces are gone you might want to navigate to:
C:\Users\(bobetc ***)\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles


Open the Profiles folder and delete all of the contents (likely three or more separate folders with alpha-numeric names).
Note: DO NOT DELETE THE PROFILES FOLDER---just the contents thereof.
Now empty your Recycle bin.
Et voila!!


And----yer done.

Now download and install a new, fresh version of Firefox.
Next time you open Firefox, a new profile will be created and version 69 (or newer) should have NO conflicts.

still having problems putting id bank numbers in both google and ff
I am really so grateful to life boat :clapping:
Bob
Bob.

(bob12a)

User avatar
kasapres
Site Admin
Posts: 2208
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 11:13 pm
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by kasapres »

still having problems putting id bank numbers in both google and ff

Assuming you meant you're having trouble accessing your bank accounts using either Google Chrome and/or Firefox...
mmm...well now we're wandering into other unknown territories.
If all other online activities seem to be going well---and apparently Firefox has installed properly and hasn't fallen apart on you once again-----

Try accessing your online banking using Internet Explorer and see how it goes.
I make this suggestion because some banks will only recognize IE and have not yet augmented their systems to accommodate any other browsers. (he says...with firsthand knowledge)

User avatar
grumps
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 5:28 pm
Location: Hoddesdon Hertfordshire

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by grumps »

Am told that HSBC no longer use id bank numbers. You have to use a special key pad that they issue
Maybe is a similar issue with your bank?

User avatar
bob12a
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:31 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by bob12a »

Thanks for the information Grump.
Bob.

(bob12a)

modeng2000
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:55 pm

Re: my scrambled key board

Post by modeng2000 »

grumps wrote:Am told that HSBC no longer use id bank numbers. You have to use a special key pad that they issue
Maybe is a similar issue with your bank?
So do Barclays.

Post Reply